Can a Dragon Write a Blog?


By Dave Miller

I bought a Dragon. Now what? Do I slay the Dragon or train him to be useful? In this day and age where technology has moved to the realm that it is, sometimes we need to train the old dog. At times the easy way to train the old dog is by giving it a new tool.

I am a very cumbersome typist. I hunt and peck. I hunt for the letter then I peck at it. Over the years I’ve gotten fairly fast at pecking. Emphasis on fairly! So I’ve came to the conclusion that I need to learn how to type faster. I was mulling over the idea of taking a typing course. Then right on time, Fred Pryor called me about a course on speed-reading. I signed up. Next they tried to sell me on a package deal. They have a program where you buy a year’s worth of courses for $199. You can take any course that they offer. Plus they have online courses. I thought it quite a good deal. So I signed up.

I decided to find out what they have in typing courses. I searched. And I looked. None. So I called the lady, and she searched also. She found nothing. So now I’m back to square one. I have a year’s worth of Fred Pryor courses and nothing else.

So I looked for some alternative methods. I knew of one all along. I just never knew if I wanted to take that step. But I did.

I bought a Dragon. Dragon Naturally Speaking.

So this blog I wrote by talking. Which as many of you know comes quite naturally to me, talking that is. My hope is that this will make it easier for me to update my blog. And many other things. The real question is still should I rather have taken a typing course than rely on some device that I just talk to? I’m afraid I know the answer. I should take the typing course. But I do know that I am far better off producing material by talking than not producing material at all. So this is the step that I take right now: I will talk to my computer and have it write for me.

Related Post:

Published in: on July 18, 2012 at 2:00 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://realstreetblog.wordpress.com/2012/07/18/680/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

